Patient Reviews

Reviews for Houston, TX Colon and Rectal Surgeon Dr. Khawaja Azimuddin

Patient Testimonials

Houston Colon and Rectal Surgery is proud to treat patients all across Houston, TX and beyond at our accessible North Houston and West Houston offices. We employ three of the finest specialists in the field, Drs. Khawaja Azimuddin, Tal Raphaeli, and Jean Knapps. Each of our surgeons prioritizes providing exceptional patient care above all else. We work closely with women and men alike so they can understand every step of their treatment and play an active role in the decision-making process of their colorectal care. When choosing a specialist to restore your health and quality of life, it's important that you select only the best. Below, we have provided a comprehensive listing of reviews left by real patients just like you who have sought and received care from Houston Colon and Rectal Surgery. We invite you to browse through these individual accounts and envision the care you could receive when you trust your wellness to our esteemed team.

Filter64 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from H.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 17, 2021

I visited Dr. Azmuddin for a routine colonoscopy, and he did an excellent job. He is very competent, intelligent, and friendly. For the first time, I experienced almost no recovery time from the procedure. After a short stay in the hospital, I walked out with my husband to enjoy a large breakfast. I am also pleased that Dr Azmuddin gave me a choice of 2 good hospitals: Houston Methodist-Willowbrook and St. Lukes. I chose Houston Methodist, and was very happy with all of their services. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 28, 2022

He listens and is concerned about my son’s care. He explained everything to my satisfaction and answered all our questions. Thank you Dr. Azimuddin. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.N.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 12, 2022

Dr. Azi is not only professional but very caring toward his patients and staff. While maintaining a high level of professionalism toward me, I also witnessed his playful side with his staff while they were working on my file/insurance. Such a breath of fresh air to see a doctor treat his staff like family. He is extremely gentle during the exam, and explained everything in detail, including my options. I had an emergency visit and he and his staff were able to schedule surgery the next day. I have already given is name to a colleague, so when she is ready to have surgery she knows who to contact. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 25, 2022

After 2 surgeries from an ER doctor and one from another doctor, my fistula kept flaring up. I decided to get a second opinion from Dr Azimuddhin, and I was convinced to go for a third surgery. Right after the surgery I felt this time it would be all fixed. Because he did the procedure so clean and the incision was thoroughly stitched. I have never given any reviews, but the pain and the procedures I went through last year literally took a toll on me. Thanks to Dr. Azimuddhin, he treated me and solved my issue in merely couple of weeks. Please don’t wait or be scared to get help if you have any colon issues, go to him and get his expert opinion. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 29, 2022

I have been Dr Azimuddin’s patient since 2017 and found him very knowledgeable, well experienced and compassionate. Highly recommended!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 28, 2022

Staff was great in setting the appointment, little waiting, and with their timely and useful follow-up. Good and helpful advice from the doctor -- an experienced professional throughout. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 26, 2022

Dr. Azi performed emergency hernia surgery on my 83 year old father a month ago. He was straightforward and honest. He saved my father’s life and my family is so grateful to him. God really him thru performing the surgery which was considered complicated. I recommend Dr. Azi to anyone especially for an elderly patient who is scared. His kindness and compassion goes a long way. May god continue to bless him as well. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.A.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 25, 2022

Dr. Azimuddin is absolutely great with his patients. During and post surgery Dr. Azimuddin and his staff were very professional and took special care of all my needs. I suggested Dr. Azimuddin to my family as well and they also benefited from his expertise. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.G.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 20, 2022

Dr. Azi is the most caring doctor I have ever had! He has helped me through a blood clot, two colonoscopies, he's also helped me through a surgery while I was in the hospital. He truly goes above and beyond. Not only is he an awesome doctor, he is a friend. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 08, 2022

Dr Azimuddin is friendly which made me comfortable to talk and to discuss the problem with. Fully recommend to anyone. Much thanks to be under his care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.K.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 05, 2022

I found Dr. Azi in 2018 when I was diagnosed with colon cancer. I was extremely impressed from the first visit and trust his judgment on what needs to be done. He has an awesome bedside manner and truly cares for his patients. (His sense of humor isn't too bad, either!) He is very thorough and made sure I understood exactly what was going to happen. He is THE best... I wish I could have him as my PCP. 10 out of 10!!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 15, 2021

Dr. Azi is a life saver! He diagnosed my rectal cancer and jumped right into action. He literally pulled out his cell phone and began consulting with an oncologist and radiologist. Dr. Azi is the type of doctor that truly cares about his patients and will do anything ensure the best care. I am forever grateful for him. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.D.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 06, 2021

Dr. Khawja Azimuddin is an excellent surgeon. I cannot thank him enough for the surgery he performed on me -- which was seamless and pain free for me --- beyond my wildest imagination !! Thank you Dr. Azimuddin !!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Aug 31, 2021

Thank you! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Aug 27, 2021

I was referred to Dr.Azimuddin by my GI and PCP doctor for my diverticulitis and he came highly recommended. He recommended surgery and since I have never had surgery in my life I was nervous and had questions. He explained the surgery and answered all my questions very patiently. I am very glad I went to Dr.Azimuddin and had my surgery. He has a very good bedside manner as well and the surgery went very well and I am 5 weeks Post-Op and feeling so much better. His staff are nice, friendly and helped me with my medical leave forms...(thank you Cece,Gaby and Evelyn!) I highly recommend DrAzimuddin. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Aug 21, 2021

Dr Azimuddin performed emergency surgery on me 18 months ago. I became his patient and found him to be professional, knowledgeable and caring. He listens and has a good sense of humor. I definitely recommend him. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Aug 10, 2021

Very exact and to the point. Took very good care of me. After examination he took time to explain what treatment he would use. I was fully informed and knew what to expect. I am very satisfied with the outcome. Thank you Dr Azimuddin. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.F.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 30, 2021

He is a good doctor More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.T.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 26, 2021

Dr Azzimuddin has done 3 procedures on me-he is a pro, friendly and I'm honored to be his patient-excellent results More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 09, 2021

Dr. Azimuddin was very professional and attentive to my concerns. As someone who struggled with hemrroids for 3 years, I was very grateful to have been cured by his simple treatments. The healing process and hospitality were overall remarkable. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 05, 2021

I had a colonoscopy done myself and he has treated my wife extensively. Dr. Azimuddin is a highly competent, caring, and compassionate physician. I highly recommend him. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.O.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 17, 2021

Dr. Azimuddin is the consummate surgeon of great expertise and perfection. If you need a colon surgical procedure, call him! He is second to none in colon rectal surgery. He made a complicated procedure look so simple that I walked away from the hospital after the surgical procedure completely healed without any pain; without any dizziness; and without any post surgical infection thereafter. A university of Edinburgh Scotland trained surgeon, he is the best scholar because he is also a PhD in medicine. Also, he is very polite and humble, making his patients feel homely, safe, comfortable, and satisfied. I rate him and his clinic's staff 5-star and awesome in professional medical expertise. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 13, 2021

All of my visits and my surgery were handled professionally and in a caring manner. His surgery to relieve my condition was outstanding. I highly recommend Dr. Azimuddin for his outstanding expertise, manner and technique. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 07, 2020

My 82 year old Mom with Lewy Body Dementia needed surgery while she was in hospital and my brother and I were most concerned about her having it due to the tenancy for LBD patients to severely decline after being under general anesthesia. Dr. Azi spoke at length with us and said he would research other anesthesia methods to avoid that risk. He and Dr. Snider (anesth) came up with a way to accommodate our wishes and allow Mom's hernia to be repaired. We have been most pleased with Dr. Azi, his staff and consults! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.W.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Oct 27, 2020

Can't say enough good things about Dr. Azimuddin, had major rectal cancer surgery with ostomy and reversal. This was a very scary time for me. He's good at explaining what to expect. Also something about him gave me confidence that I was in good hands. Turns out I was blessed to have him as my surgeon. Would trust him with my children, says everything. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 30, 2020

Good listener and well above and beyond professional service!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 22, 2020

Excellent Every appointment. I would recommend this practice to anyone. Dr. AziMuddin is very professional and made sure you understood every part of surgery and follow up visits. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 01, 2020

The ladies in the office are great very nice and Dr. A well I just think he’s the best very knowledgeable and listens to your concerns and knows his stuff the problems I had he had a cure and worked no problems after that. He the best would have him as my surgeon again. Thank you. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 28, 2020

Dr. Azi was able to get me in very quickly, only 4 days and 2 were the weekend. He was on time, took a good history, and immediately started explaining what was wrong with me. I went to a different colorectal surgeon 6 months ago and she was terrible and gave me little to no info, and I then spent the last 6 months in terrible pain. Dr. Azi informed me as to what was going on and I finally have answers and a plan forward out of this. I think this is an amazing doctor, and I deal with doctors regularly in my profession- he is a good one. He's obviously an expert but he's also nice and friendly. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 16, 2020

I highly recommend Dr. Azimuddin. Very professional and a good personality with a sense of humor!He takes time to listen to the patient. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.B.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 16, 2020

Dr. Azimuddin (Dr Azi) is amAZIng :-) He is very knowledgeable, understandable, and patient (especially with those of us that may be a little stubborn and untrusting of doctors in general) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 16, 2020

I highly recommend Dr. Azimuddin. Very professional and a good personality with a sense of humor!He takes time to listen to the patient. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.G.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 09, 2020

I had a great overall experience, if you can even say that about a surgery. I have had a number of surgeries over the years for various things, but this was my first experience with Dr. Azimuddin. I was expecting the worst due to the type of procedure, recovery time, pain, etc. I was pleasantly surprised that there was much less recovery pain than I have experienced with other surgeries and I had no complications at all. Dr. Azimuddin was very thorough as I would expect any surgeon to be before and after the surgery. I would highly recommend Dr. Azimuddin and Houston Colon and Rectal Surgery for any type of colon or rectal surgery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 06, 2020

My name is Joseph Khawam and I'm a patient of Dr. Khawaja Azimuddin. I was in so much pain, I was bleeding and suffering from my hemorrhoids for a very long time. I tried everything for more than eight months and nothing worked at all and the pain was getting worst. Then my doctor told me to go to Dr. Azimuddin and I did. Dr. Azimuddin is such a wonderful doctor. He diagnosed me with stage 4 hemmohroid and extreme rectum pain. He did my surgery and I feel great. He's very knowledgeable and took his his time to listen to me and was very patient with me. He's a very honest and understanding doctor and not greedy like so many other doctors. He saw me as a patient and not a business deal. He's a very good doctor and surgeon. I wish for every patient who suffer from colon, rectum and hemmohroids to go to Dr. KHAWAJA AZIMUDDIN BECAUSE HE REALLY IS A GREAT SURGEON.Thank you very much Dr. Azimuddin for everything because I feel like you treated me as if I was your own brother. Thank you ag More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 06, 2020

My name is Joseph Khawam and I'm a patient of Dr. Khawaja Azimuddin. I was in so much pain, I was bleeding and suffering from my hemorrhoids for a very long time. I tried everything for more than eight months and nothing worked at all and the pain was getting worst. Then my doctor told me to go to Dr. Azimuddin and I did. Dr. Azimuddin is such a wonderful doctor. He diagnosed me with stage 4 hemmohroid and extreme rectum pain. He did my surgery and I feel great. He's very knowledgeable and took his his time to listen to me and was very patient with me. He's a very honest and understanding doctor and not greedy like so many other doctors. He saw me as a patient and not a business deal. He's a very good doctor and surgeon. I wish for every patient who suffer from colon, rectum and hemmohroids to go to Dr. KHAWAJA AZIMUDDIN BECAUSE HE REALLY IS A GREAT SURGEON.Thank you very much Dr. Azimuddin for everything because I feel like you treated me as if I was your own brother. Thank you ag More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 02, 2020

I love how quick they take care of you over the phone and in person. Dr. Azzimmudin is very patient and always takes time to explain different options when it comes to our care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 02, 2020

I love how quick they take care of you over the phone and in person. Dr. Azzimmudin is very patient and always takes time to explain different options when it comes to our care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 19, 2020

Hallelujah! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 19, 2020

Hallelujah! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.M.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 15, 2020

Dr. Azimuddin was recommended to me from my GP. I was diagnosed with Stage 4 colon cancer. Dr. Azimuddin took my case and did the operation on my colon. Bottom line, because of his knowledge and professionalism he saved my life. His care and concern of his patients go beyond the norm. If you are put in the situation of finding a colon or rectal surgery please, contact Doctor Azimuddin if you want the best chance of surviving. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 02, 2020

Dr. Azimuddin has been very helpful and kind from the first time I went to see him. He provided me with all the details about the procedure well beforehand. Before and after surgery he was very kind and patient and answered all my questions and concerns. Very well experienced and excellent bedside manner! His staff was very cooperative as well. Overall the experience was as smooth as I could have hoped. I would definitely recommend him. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 16, 2020

From the very first visit with Dr. Azimuddin I felt very relieved that I had chosen someone who listens and provides feedback to my questions in a manner that was easy to understand. He always provided material about the course of action that he intended to take. I am now cancer free and throughout my follow up appointments he remains the same. Great personality and a sense of humor at the right times! Very knowledgeable, respectful and caring. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 27, 2020

TREATMENT WITH PROFESSIONAL EXCELLENCE AND EXCEPTIONAL CARE. I STRONGLY RECOMMEND DR. KHAWAJA AZIMUDDIN. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.E.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 11, 2020

This is a straight talk but kind Dr. He is very prompt to see his patients. He listens to what you have to say. I was very pleased with him and his staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 24, 2020

Dr Azimuddin is professional, knowledgeable who’s still practicing with an excellent bedside manners, he listens, answer and address the patient concerns and issues. You’re highly recommend. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.C.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 18, 2020

Dr. Azi has been so great through a hectic year I had last year. He asked me every question I wanted to ask but if course never think of when you get there. He didnt just see me for the exam he sat down with me explained everything about the surgery & made sure I knew everything I needed to know. He even took the time to be sure everything was good after my surgery as well. Hes a great doctor and the staff has always been fast to take care of any calls with questions or appts needing to be rescheduled or even medication refills. I highly recomend him & his team if you need a colon and rectal specialist. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 19, 2019

I started having extreme pain and had suffered for 2 weeks. I had gone to another Dr. who prescribed some medication but the issue kept getting worse. It was so bad I went to the ER and they were no help. I called Dr. Azimuddin and he got me in the next day. I was in so much pain that he had me admitted to the hospital that day. He conducted surgery the following day and that took care of the issue. That was 6 days ago and I am feeling great and have no pain. I was introduced to Dr. Azimuddin in a very bad situation which he handled extremely well. I can not recommend him enough. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Oct 15, 2019

He solved my 2 year problem without surgery. What a relief. Thank you Dr. Azimuddin. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.A.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Oct 09, 2019

I am a patient of Dr. Azimuddin and he is one of the best Doctors I've ever seen he has done 2 surgeries on me in the last five years and has shown nothing but concern and compassion!!!! He asks lots of questions and he answers any I have.Would highly recommend this Doctor to anyone of my family or friends More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.R.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 03, 2019

Very attentive, listens well and is prepared to answer any question that you may ask pertaining to your condition. Dr Azi put together a team of doctors to handle my treatments and coordinated with each. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 10, 2019

Dr. Azi is extremely knowledgeable in his specialty and I wouldn't trust any other surgeon. I had never had surgery before, and he was reassuring, patient, and professional with all my concerns and questions. The surgery went well and was fast. I couldn't be happier. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 29, 2019

He did my colon resection. He’s personable and straight forward. He took the time to meet me in his office to explain the surgery and recovery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 05, 2019

Fantastic. Everything you want in a Physician. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.T.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 02, 2019

Dr azimuddin has seen me 3x and has done 2 procedures including davinci robot surgery for r inguinal hernia i have the utmost confidence in him he listens, and my results have been excellent he is friendly and professional and clearly explains things his staff is also friendly and efficient More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.H.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 29, 2018

Dr. Azimuddin preformed a procedure on me , he was exceptional in every way possible More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.H.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 29, 2018

Dr. Azimuddin preformed a procedure on me , he was exceptional in every way possible More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 04, 2018

Dr. Azimuddin is clearly very experienced and is an excellent surgeon/doctor. His easy going bedside manner helps patients navigate the uncomfortable subject matter of their visit. I would fully recommend and endorse Dr. Azimuddin. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.G.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 23, 2018

Dr. Azimuddin has been my surgeon for a total colectomy, an ostomy reversal, hospital stays, and in-office checkups. He is always friendly and is always concerned about my progress. He gives direct answers and takes the time to make sure I (and my parents) understand things. I always feel comfortable asking him any questions I have. Any nurse or hospital staff I've talked to always has great things to say about him. Dr. Azi looks out for his patients and is a great doctor to have on your side. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 06, 2018

Excellent care from Dr. Azi and his office. Highly recommend. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.G.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 03, 2017

I am really glad I was referred to Dr. Azimudin by my PCP. I had terrible hemorrhoids and he walked me through my options, before I made the decision to have a hemorrhoidectemy. He doesn't show much emotion and it straight to the point, which I appreciated, but not everyone does.A few days after my surgery, he saw me for a same day appointment because I was in pain that I thought was more than I thought I should feel. But after a discussion and guidance on keeping on top of my medications, More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.M.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 28, 2017

really?? there is an extra star I can put down for Dr. Azimuddin?? Wish there were 10!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 16, 2017

Dr Azimuddin solved my problem in no time. His staff got me in the office within hours of my first call. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 18, 2016

My experience with Dr. Azimuddin has been exceptional. Throughout my treatment, Dr. Azimuddin was there to help guide me through the process. He always made sure I was completely aware of all health risks, personally checked up on surgical patients, and was always diligent in answering any questions I had prior to or after surgery. He goes by the book, and doesn't put his patients at any unnecessary risks. Thanks to his advice and support, I am on my way to recovery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 18, 2016

Dr. Azzimuddin diagnosed and resolved my issue in 2 weeks, that had been on going for 7 months. Although he is a surgeon his first statement was not let?s cut you open and see what we find (as I had been told by another surgeon)! His test showed the issue immediately. my intestines had a hole made from mesh from a previous surgery which resulted in my body creating a fistula. He scheduled surgery, operated, and fixed the issue, that was in Sept. 2015. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.