Patient Reviews

Reviews for Houston Colon and Rectal Surgery

Patient Testimonials

Houston Colon and Rectal Surgery is proud to treat patients all across Houston, TX and beyond at our accessible North Houston and West Houston offices. We employ three of the finest specialists in the field, Drs. Khawaja Azimuddin, Tal Raphaeli, and Jean Knapps. Each of our surgeons prioritizes providing exceptional patient care above all else. We work closely with women and men alike so they can understand every step of their treatment and play an active role in the decision-making process of their colorectal care. When choosing a specialist to restore your health and quality of life, it's important that you select only the best. Below, we have provided a comprehensive listing of reviews left by real patients just like you who have sought and received care from Houston Colon and Rectal Surgery. We invite you to browse through these individual accounts and envision the care you could receive when you trust your wellness to our esteemed team.

Filter61 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from C.A.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 11, 2020

Not a Review but a heartfelt thank you to Dr. Knapps, My wife was referred to D.R Knapps for a medical issue. Come to find out that my wife's issue as not one of Dr. Knapps expertises. Dr. Knapps took the time to look at my wifes C.T scan and go over a little bit of what was going on. He assisted her in finding the right Dr. and even followed up with a called and talked to my wife's new doctor. Thank you Dr. Knapps More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 01, 2020

The ladies in the office are great very nice and Dr. A well I just think he’s the best very knowledgeable and listens to your concerns and knows his stuff the problems I had he had a cure and worked no problems after that. He the best would have him as my surgeon again. Thank you. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 28, 2020

Dr. Azi was able to get me in very quickly, only 4 days and 2 were the weekend. He was on time, took a good history, and immediately started explaining what was wrong with me. I went to a different colorectal surgeon 6 months ago and she was terrible and gave me little to no info, and I then spent the last 6 months in terrible pain. Dr. Azi informed me as to what was going on and I finally have answers and a plan forward out of this. I think this is an amazing doctor, and I deal with doctors regularly in my profession- he is a good one. He's obviously an expert but he's also nice and friendly. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.T.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 20, 2020

Dr Knapps helped me out with emergency surgery. Very caring and listens very well to patients concerns. Highly recommended. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 07, 2020

excellent doctor. Very friendly. He has a lot of patience when explaining. He is very attentive. And there is a very nice atmosphere. I highly recommend it More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 07, 2020

excellent doctor. Very friendly. He has a lot of patience when explaining. He is very attentive. And there is a very nice atmosphere. I highly recommend it More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.B.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 16, 2020

Dr. Azimuddin (Dr Azi) is amAZIng :-) He is very knowledgeable, understandable, and patient (especially with those of us that may be a little stubborn and untrusting of doctors in general) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 16, 2020

I highly recommend Dr. Azimuddin. Very professional and a good personality with a sense of humor!He takes time to listen to the patient. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.T.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 10, 2020

Great visit l do recommend him My appointment was very fast so apprechive More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.H.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 09, 2020

I am so glad that I was referred to Dr. Knapps. He is amazing! He is very professional and has a wonderful bedside manner. I was worried about my lap chole but Dr. Knapps made me feel at ease. I will definitely refer family members and friends to him. Thank you, Dr. Knapps. You're the best! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.G.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 09, 2020

I had a great overall experience, if you can even say that about a surgery. I have had a number of surgeries over the years for various things, but this was my first experience with Dr. Azimuddin. I was expecting the worst due to the type of procedure, recovery time, pain, etc. I was pleasantly surprised that there was much less recovery pain than I have experienced with other surgeries and I had no complications at all. Dr. Azimuddin was very thorough as I would expect any surgeon to be before and after the surgery. I would highly recommend Dr. Azimuddin and Houston Colon and Rectal Surgery for any type of colon or rectal surgery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 06, 2020

My name is Joseph Khawam and I'm a patient of Dr. Khawaja Azimuddin. I was in so much pain, I was bleeding and suffering from my hemorrhoids for a very long time. I tried everything for more than eight months and nothing worked at all and the pain was getting worst. Then my doctor told me to go to Dr. Azimuddin and I did. Dr. Azimuddin is such a wonderful doctor. He diagnosed me with stage 4 hemmohroid and extreme rectum pain. He did my surgery and I feel great. He's very knowledgeable and took his his time to listen to me and was very patient with me. He's a very honest and understanding doctor and not greedy like so many other doctors. He saw me as a patient and not a business deal. He's a very good doctor and surgeon. I wish for every patient who suffer from colon, rectum and hemmohroids to go to Dr. KHAWAJA AZIMUDDIN BECAUSE HE REALLY IS A GREAT SURGEON.Thank you very much Dr. Azimuddin for everything because I feel like you treated me as if I was your own brother. Thank you ag More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 02, 2020

I love how quick they take care of you over the phone and in person. Dr. Azzimmudin is very patient and always takes time to explain different options when it comes to our care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 19, 2020

Hallelujah! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.M.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 15, 2020

Dr. Azimuddin was recommended to me from my GP. I was diagnosed with Stage 4 colon cancer. Dr. Azimuddin took my case and did the operation on my colon. Bottom line, because of his knowledge and professionalism he saved my life. His care and concern of his patients go beyond the norm. If you are put in the situation of finding a colon or rectal surgery please, contact Doctor Azimuddin if you want the best chance of surviving. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 02, 2020

Dr. Azimuddin has been very helpful and kind from the first time I went to see him. He provided me with all the details about the procedure well beforehand. Before and after surgery he was very kind and patient and answered all my questions and concerns. Very well experienced and excellent bedside manner! His staff was very cooperative as well. Overall the experience was as smooth as I could have hoped. I would definitely recommend him. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 13, 2020

Habla mi idioma, es una persona muy amable y le explica detalladamente el problema. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 19, 2020

I went in there scared of what he may say about my situation but he explained everything in laymen's terms, easy to understand. I was very impressed. I will continue to use and recommend him and this office. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 16, 2020

From the very first visit with Dr. Azimuddin I felt very relieved that I had chosen someone who listens and provides feedback to my questions in a manner that was easy to understand. He always provided material about the course of action that he intended to take. I am now cancer free and throughout my follow up appointments he remains the same. Great personality and a sense of humor at the right times! Very knowledgeable, respectful and caring. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.M.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 04, 2020

Doctor Knapps is a master surgeon and has wonderful patient demeanor. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 27, 2020

TREATMENT WITH PROFESSIONAL EXCELLENCE AND EXCEPTIONAL CARE. I STRONGLY RECOMMEND DR. KHAWAJA AZIMUDDIN. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.E.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 11, 2020

This is a straight talk but kind Dr. He is very prompt to see his patients. He listens to what you have to say. I was very pleased with him and his staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.M.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 05, 2020

Best abdominal surgeon in North Houston! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 24, 2020

Dr Azimuddin is professional, knowledgeable who’s still practicing with an excellent bedside manners, he listens, answer and address the patient concerns and issues. You’re highly recommend. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 24, 2020

Very pleasant. Explains everything in great detail. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 24, 2020

Very pleasant. Explains everything in great detail. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 22, 2020

I feel very lucky that I was referred to Dr. Knapps. Yes, he is a wonderful doctor but just as important, he is just a good person who made me feel comfortable before and after my surgery. I would recommend him in a heartbeat to anyone. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 22, 2020

I feel very lucky that I was referred to Dr. Knapps. Yes, he is a wonderful doctor but just as important, he is just a good person who made me feel comfortable before and after my surgery. I would recommend him in a heartbeat to anyone. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.C.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 18, 2020

Dr. Azi has been so great through a hectic year I had last year. He asked me every question I wanted to ask but if course never think of when you get there. He didnt just see me for the exam he sat down with me explained everything about the surgery & made sure I knew everything I needed to know. He even took the time to be sure everything was good after my surgery as well. Hes a great doctor and the staff has always been fast to take care of any calls with questions or appts needing to be rescheduled or even medication refills. I highly recomend him & his team if you need a colon and rectal specialist. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.L.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 18, 2020

I wish Dr. Knapps could be my doctor for all my ailments. Extremely professional and caring and that goes to all his staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.B.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 18, 2020

very pleased with Dr. Raphaeli professional and courteous, have already told others about him More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 18, 2020

Excelente Doctor, muy profesional en lo que hace, amable, te explica detalladamente para que no hayan dudas. Lo recomiendo una y mil veces! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 19, 2019

I started having extreme pain and had suffered for 2 weeks. I had gone to another Dr. who prescribed some medication but the issue kept getting worse. It was so bad I went to the ER and they were no help. I called Dr. Azimuddin and he got me in the next day. I was in so much pain that he had me admitted to the hospital that day. He conducted surgery the following day and that took care of the issue. That was 6 days ago and I am feeling great and have no pain. I was introduced to Dr. Azimuddin in a very bad situation which he handled extremely well. I can not recommend him enough. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Oct 15, 2019

He solved my 2 year problem without surgery. What a relief. Thank you Dr. Azimuddin. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.A.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Oct 09, 2019

I am a patient of Dr. Azimuddin and he is one of the best Doctors I've ever seen he has done 2 surgeries on me in the last five years and has shown nothing but concern and compassion!!!! He asks lots of questions and he answers any I have.Would highly recommend this Doctor to anyone of my family or friends More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.R.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 03, 2019

Very attentive, listens well and is prepared to answer any question that you may ask pertaining to your condition. Dr Azi put together a team of doctors to handle my treatments and coordinated with each. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 10, 2019

Dr. Azi is extremely knowledgeable in his specialty and I wouldn't trust any other surgeon. I had never had surgery before, and he was reassuring, patient, and professional with all my concerns and questions. The surgery went well and was fast. I couldn't be happier. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 29, 2019

He did my colon resection. He’s personable and straight forward. He took the time to meet me in his office to explain the surgery and recovery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.V.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 22, 2019

My husband found Dr. Knapps when he had to have emergency surgery to remove his entire colon due to ulcerative colitis in December of 2018. Since, he has been his surgeon for the next steps of his recovery and future surgeries. He just completed my husband’s second surgery and really takes the time to make sure we are confident in his decisions and his work. He really cares about his patients and how they are feeling. Even though my husband’s surgeries have been extensive, he gets relief knowing Dr. Knapps will always be a friendly face to see during and after. I think that has really made a difference in his recovery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.V.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 22, 2019

My husband found Dr. Knapps when he had to have emergency surgery to remove his entire colon due to ulcerative colitis in December of 2018. Since, he has been his surgeon for the next steps of his recovery and future surgeries. He just completed my husband’s second surgery and really takes the time to make sure we are confident in his decisions and his work. He really cares about his patients and how they are feeling. Even though my husband’s surgeries have been extensive, he gets relief knowing Dr. Knapps will always be a friendly face to see during and after. I think that has really made a difference in his recovery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 23, 2019

Fantastic. Friendly, comfortable, smart, and down to earth. Dr. Knapps talks to my family and me like we're just people. He gives information without assuming we know what he's talking about but without being condescending. We were so lucky to have been assigned him as my father's surgeon this spring - he literally saved my father's life. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 30, 2019

Dr. Knapps is very thorough, takes time to answer questions and is truly committed to giving his patients the very best care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 05, 2019

Fantastic. Everything you want in a Physician. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.T.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 02, 2019

Dr azimuddin has seen me 3x and has done 2 procedures including davinci robot surgery for r inguinal hernia i have the utmost confidence in him he listens, and my results have been excellent he is friendly and professional and clearly explains things his staff is also friendly and efficient More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.J.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 14, 2019

I was very pleased with the care I received from Dr Raphaeli. He is caring and concerned with comfort and complete recovery. He answered my phone call quickly post surgically and helped me with my question, not via a nurse or other office staff. I have been healing well and faster than I anticipated due to his surgical skill. Thank you Dr Raphaeli!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.H.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 29, 2018

Dr. Azimuddin preformed a procedure on me , he was exceptional in every way possible More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 04, 2018

Dr. Azimuddin is clearly very experienced and is an excellent surgeon/doctor. His easy going bedside manner helps patients navigate the uncomfortable subject matter of their visit. I would fully recommend and endorse Dr. Azimuddin. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.G.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 23, 2018

Dr. Azimuddin has been my surgeon for a total colectomy, an ostomy reversal, hospital stays, and in-office checkups. He is always friendly and is always concerned about my progress. He gives direct answers and takes the time to make sure I (and my parents) understand things. I always feel comfortable asking him any questions I have. Any nurse or hospital staff I've talked to always has great things to say about him. Dr. Azi looks out for his patients and is a great doctor to have on your side. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 18, 2018

Dr, Raphaeli - is a caring and kind doctor. He explained everything to me and there was nothing to fear. I was relaxed and came through the procedure well. Best of all no pain any more! Carole Z. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 18, 2018

Dr, Raphaeli - is a caring and kind doctor. He explained everything to me and there was nothing to fear. I was relaxed and came through the procedure well. Best of all no pain any more! Carole Z. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 06, 2018

Excellent care from Dr. Azi and his office. Highly recommend. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 21, 2018

After being in pain for months & seeing 2 other doctors. Dr. Raphaeli actually took the time to exam me. He was very patient, nice and took his time. He gave me different options and told me exactly what I had. I am so glad that I found him. His office staff at the Chasewood location is very nice. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.H.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 16, 2017

Dr. Knapps was very patient and answered all my and my Mom's questions, very warm and understanding, he made us feel very comfortable with the procedures and was always available to answer any questions. The fact that he spoke Spanish made all the difference in the world for my Mom because she was able to communicate herself to the doctor without having me as an interpreter. We will recommend him to every single person that I know that may need a colon and rectal surgeon. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.H.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 16, 2017

Dr. Knapps was very patient and answered all my and my Mom's questions, very warm and understanding, he made us feel very comfortable with the procedures and was always available to answer any questions. The fact that he spoke Spanish made all the difference in the world for my Mom because she was able to communicate herself to the doctor without having me as an interpreter. We will recommend him to every single person that I know that may need a colon and rectal surgeon. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.G.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 03, 2017

I am really glad I was referred to Dr. Azimudin by my PCP. I had terrible hemorrhoids and he walked me through my options, before I made the decision to have a hemorrhoidectemy. He doesn't show much emotion and it straight to the point, which I appreciated, but not everyone does.A few days after my surgery, he saw me for a same day appointment because I was in pain that I thought was more than I thought I should feel. But after a discussion and guidance on keeping on top of my medications, More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.M.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 28, 2017

really?? there is an extra star I can put down for Dr. Azimuddin?? Wish there were 10!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 08, 2017

One of the best doctors I have ever had. My situation was very rare and he was with me every step of the way. He went out of his was to get ahold of me and made sure I was doing okay. Also, he always tries to use the least invasive treatment first! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 16, 2017

Dr Azimuddin solved my problem in no time. His staff got me in the office within hours of my first call. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 18, 2016

My experience with Dr. Azimuddin has been exceptional. Throughout my treatment, Dr. Azimuddin was there to help guide me through the process. He always made sure I was completely aware of all health risks, personally checked up on surgical patients, and was always diligent in answering any questions I had prior to or after surgery. He goes by the book, and doesn't put his patients at any unnecessary risks. Thanks to his advice and support, I am on my way to recovery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 26, 2016

He inspires confidence in a successful surgical outcome because he explains why something is done. His attitude is collaborative rather than dictatorial. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 18, 2016

Dr. Azzimuddin diagnosed and resolved my issue in 2 weeks, that had been on going for 7 months. Although he is a surgeon his first statement was not let?s cut you open and see what we find (as I had been told by another surgeon)! His test showed the issue immediately. my intestines had a hole made from mesh from a previous surgery which resulted in my body creating a fistula. He scheduled surgery, operated, and fixed the issue, that was in Sept. 2015. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.