Patient Reviews

Reviews for Houston Colon and Rectal Surgery

Patient Testimonials

Houston Colon and Rectal Surgery is proud to treat patients all across Houston, TX and beyond at our accessible North Houston and West Houston offices. We employ three of the finest specialists in the field, Drs. Khawaja Azimuddin, Tal Raphaeli, and Jean Knapps. Each of our surgeons prioritizes providing exceptional patient care above all else. We work closely with women and men alike so they can understand every step of their treatment and play an active role in the decision-making process of their colorectal care. When choosing a specialist to restore your health and quality of life, it's important that you select only the best. Below, we have provided a comprehensive listing of reviews left by real patients just like you who have sought and received care from Houston Colon and Rectal Surgery. We invite you to browse through these individual accounts and envision the care you could receive when you trust your wellness to our esteemed team.

Filter34 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from D.M.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 05, 2020

Best abdominal surgeon in North Houston! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 24, 2020

Dr Azimuddin is professional, knowledgeable who’s still practicing with an excellent bedside manners, he listens, answer and address the patient concerns and issues. You’re highly recommend. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 24, 2020

Very pleasant. Explains everything in great detail. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 22, 2020

I feel very lucky that I was referred to Dr. Knapps. Yes, he is a wonderful doctor but just as important, he is just a good person who made me feel comfortable before and after my surgery. I would recommend him in a heartbeat to anyone. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.C.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 18, 2020

Dr. Azi has been so great through a hectic year I had last year. He asked me every question I wanted to ask but if course never think of when you get there. He didnt just see me for the exam he sat down with me explained everything about the surgery & made sure I knew everything I needed to know. He even took the time to be sure everything was good after my surgery as well. Hes a great doctor and the staff has always been fast to take care of any calls with questions or appts needing to be rescheduled or even medication refills. I highly recomend him & his team if you need a colon and rectal specialist. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 18, 2020

Excelente Doctor, muy profesional en lo que hace, amable, te explica detalladamente para que no hayan dudas. Lo recomiendo una y mil veces! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.B.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 18, 2020

very pleased with Dr. Raphaeli professional and courteous, have already told others about him More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.L.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 18, 2020

I wish Dr. Knapps could be my doctor for all my ailments. Extremely professional and caring and that goes to all his staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 19, 2019

I started having extreme pain and had suffered for 2 weeks. I had gone to another Dr. who prescribed some medication but the issue kept getting worse. It was so bad I went to the ER and they were no help. I called Dr. Azimuddin and he got me in the next day. I was in so much pain that he had me admitted to the hospital that day. He conducted surgery the following day and that took care of the issue. That was 6 days ago and I am feeling great and have no pain. I was introduced to Dr. Azimuddin in a very bad situation which he handled extremely well. I can not recommend him enough. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Oct 15, 2019

He solved my 2 year problem without surgery. What a relief. Thank you Dr. Azimuddin. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.A.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Oct 09, 2019

I am a patient of Dr. Azimuddin and he is one of the best Doctors I've ever seen he has done 2 surgeries on me in the last five years and has shown nothing but concern and compassion!!!! He asks lots of questions and he answers any I have.Would highly recommend this Doctor to anyone of my family or friends More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.R.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 03, 2019

Very attentive, listens well and is prepared to answer any question that you may ask pertaining to your condition. Dr Azi put together a team of doctors to handle my treatments and coordinated with each. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 10, 2019

Dr. Azi is extremely knowledgeable in his specialty and I wouldn't trust any other surgeon. I had never had surgery before, and he was reassuring, patient, and professional with all my concerns and questions. The surgery went well and was fast. I couldn't be happier. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 29, 2019

He did my colon resection. He’s personable and straight forward. He took the time to meet me in his office to explain the surgery and recovery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.V.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 22, 2019

My husband found Dr. Knapps when he had to have emergency surgery to remove his entire colon due to ulcerative colitis in December of 2018. Since, he has been his surgeon for the next steps of his recovery and future surgeries. He just completed my husband’s second surgery and really takes the time to make sure we are confident in his decisions and his work. He really cares about his patients and how they are feeling. Even though my husband’s surgeries have been extensive, he gets relief knowing Dr. Knapps will always be a friendly face to see during and after. I think that has really made a difference in his recovery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 23, 2019

Fantastic. Friendly, comfortable, smart, and down to earth. Dr. Knapps talks to my family and me like we're just people. He gives information without assuming we know what he's talking about but without being condescending. We were so lucky to have been assigned him as my father's surgeon this spring - he literally saved my father's life. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 30, 2019

Dr. Knapps is very thorough, takes time to answer questions and is truly committed to giving his patients the very best care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 05, 2019

Fantastic. Everything you want in a Physician. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.T.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 02, 2019

Dr azimuddin has seen me 3x and has done 2 procedures including davinci robot surgery for r inguinal hernia i have the utmost confidence in him he listens, and my results have been excellent he is friendly and professional and clearly explains things his staff is also friendly and efficient More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.J.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 14, 2019

I was very pleased with the care I received from Dr Raphaeli. He is caring and concerned with comfort and complete recovery. He answered my phone call quickly post surgically and helped me with my question, not via a nurse or other office staff. I have been healing well and faster than I anticipated due to his surgical skill. Thank you Dr Raphaeli!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.H.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 29, 2018

Dr. Azimuddin preformed a procedure on me , he was exceptional in every way possible More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 04, 2018

Dr. Azimuddin is clearly very experienced and is an excellent surgeon/doctor. His easy going bedside manner helps patients navigate the uncomfortable subject matter of their visit. I would fully recommend and endorse Dr. Azimuddin. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 21, 2018

After being in pain for months & seeing 2 other doctors. Dr. Raphaeli actually took the time to exam me. He was very patient, nice and took his time. He gave me different options and told me exactly what I had. I am so glad that I found him. His office staff at the Chasewood location is very nice. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.G.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 23, 2018

Dr. Azimuddin has been my surgeon for a total colectomy, an ostomy reversal, hospital stays, and in-office checkups. He is always friendly and is always concerned about my progress. He gives direct answers and takes the time to make sure I (and my parents) understand things. I always feel comfortable asking him any questions I have. Any nurse or hospital staff I've talked to always has great things to say about him. Dr. Azi looks out for his patients and is a great doctor to have on your side. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 18, 2018

Dr, Raphaeli - is a caring and kind doctor. He explained everything to me and there was nothing to fear. I was relaxed and came through the procedure well. Best of all no pain any more! Carole Z. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 06, 2018

Excellent care from Dr. Azi and his office. Highly recommend. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.H.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 16, 2017

Dr. Knapps was very patient and answered all my and my Mom's questions, very warm and understanding, he made us feel very comfortable with the procedures and was always available to answer any questions. The fact that he spoke Spanish made all the difference in the world for my Mom because she was able to communicate herself to the doctor without having me as an interpreter. We will recommend him to every single person that I know that may need a colon and rectal surgeon. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.G.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 03, 2017

I am really glad I was referred to Dr. Azimudin by my PCP. I had terrible hemorrhoids and he walked me through my options, before I made the decision to have a hemorrhoidectemy. He doesn't show much emotion and it straight to the point, which I appreciated, but not everyone does.A few days after my surgery, he saw me for a same day appointment because I was in pain that I thought was more than I thought I should feel. But after a discussion and guidance on keeping on top of my medications, More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.M.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 28, 2017

really?? there is an extra star I can put down for Dr. Azimuddin?? Wish there were 10!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 08, 2017

One of the best doctors I have ever had. My situation was very rare and he was with me every step of the way. He went out of his was to get ahold of me and made sure I was doing okay. Also, he always tries to use the least invasive treatment first! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 16, 2017

Dr Azimuddin solved my problem in no time. His staff got me in the office within hours of my first call. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 18, 2016

My experience with Dr. Azimuddin has been exceptional. Throughout my treatment, Dr. Azimuddin was there to help guide me through the process. He always made sure I was completely aware of all health risks, personally checked up on surgical patients, and was always diligent in answering any questions I had prior to or after surgery. He goes by the book, and doesn't put his patients at any unnecessary risks. Thanks to his advice and support, I am on my way to recovery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 26, 2016

He inspires confidence in a successful surgical outcome because he explains why something is done. His attitude is collaborative rather than dictatorial. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 18, 2016

Dr. Azzimuddin diagnosed and resolved my issue in 2 weeks, that had been on going for 7 months. Although he is a surgeon his first statement was not let?s cut you open and see what we find (as I had been told by another surgeon)! His test showed the issue immediately. my intestines had a hole made from mesh from a previous surgery which resulted in my body creating a fistula. He scheduled surgery, operated, and fixed the issue, that was in Sept. 2015. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.