Patient Reviews

Reviews for Conditions Procedures Near Houston, TX

Patient Testimonials

Houston Colon and Rectal Surgery is proud to treat patients all across Houston, TX and beyond at our accessible North Houston and West Houston offices. We employ three of the finest specialists in the field, Drs. Khawaja Azimuddin, Tal Raphaeli, and Jean Knapps. Each of our surgeons prioritizes providing exceptional patient care above all else. We work closely with women and men alike so they can understand every step of their treatment and play an active role in the decision-making process of their colorectal care. When choosing a specialist to restore your health and quality of life, it's important that you select only the best. Below, we have provided a comprehensive listing of reviews left by real patients just like you who have sought and received care from Houston Colon and Rectal Surgery. We invite you to browse through these individual accounts and envision the care you could receive when you trust your wellness to our esteemed team.

Filter12 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 19, 2019

I started having extreme pain and had suffered for 2 weeks. I had gone to another Dr. who prescribed some medication but the issue kept getting worse. It was so bad I went to the ER and they were no help. I called Dr. Azimuddin and he got me in the next day. I was in so much pain that he had me admitted to the hospital that day. He conducted surgery the following day and that took care of the issue. That was 6 days ago and I am feeling great and have no pain. I was introduced to Dr. Azimuddin in a very bad situation which he handled extremely well. I can not recommend him enough. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.Y.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 04, 2019

I was referred by my dr for hemmoroids i made a appt and arrived one week earlier than my scheduled date and was told that i could be seen. Dr R listened to my concerns and preformed a exam and Concluded that I indeed needed surgery. I had to reschedule and they were very accommodating. On the of it did take a bit of time to get to the surgery room. I did see the dr before during the nurse visit. As I was wheeled off to surgery i was repositioned and woke up in aftercare. There was a bit of pain and i was given som morphine. This did not work as well as the tylenol 3. The ibuprofen did the job so i never really took the tylenol 3 again. Although a uncomfortable procedure it's not a bad experience. Very nice dr Thank you. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 29, 2019

He did my colon resection. He’s personable and straight forward. He took the time to meet me in his office to explain the surgery and recovery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.T.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 02, 2019

Dr azimuddin has seen me 3x and has done 2 procedures including davinci robot surgery for r inguinal hernia i have the utmost confidence in him he listens, and my results have been excellent he is friendly and professional and clearly explains things his staff is also friendly and efficient More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 12, 2018

A couple months ago I suffered from severe pain in my lower abdomen which caused much difficulty when going to the restroom. My rating on this pain was a 10.After several Doctors failed to determine the source of my pain, I was lucky at last to have my gynecologist confirm it was a colon problem and that I needed to seek out the help of a specialist. My journey to Dr. Azimuddin was not an easy one as I was initially scheduled to have the procedure done in Miami. Due to a tropical storm my appointment was cancelled so I decided to head to Texas where I had family. My sister searched online for Colon specialist and there was Dr. Azimuddin of the Houston Colon & Rectal surgery with great reviews. Honestly my encounter with Dr. Azimuddin can only be described as ‘A Blessing’. In a nutshell, we emailed him in the evening for an urgent appointment given my level of pain. Imagine, Dr. Azimuddin was online and responded immediately confirming that he would fit me in for an appointment the next day. He was able to review all paper work and advise all next steps in order to have the procedure done quickly. A colonoscopy was done to confirm source of pain followed by a colon resection. I vouch that Dr. Azimuddin and his team lived up to their commitment to the patient of:1) Immediate access to care2) Complete Evaluation of GI Tract3) Rapid Relief of Symptoms4) Individualized Treatment for meIn addition, I felt very comfortable knowing that I was being attended to by someone with so much experience and knowledge in his field. The level of professionalism was impeccable and I knew from my first appointment that I would be ok.My surgery was minimally invasive and my recovery has been nothing short of amazing.Thank you Dr. Azimuddin for making me pain free and able to live life to the fullest again. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 12, 2018

I cannot say enough about Dr. Azimuddin. I suffered with a fissure for over 6 months. Day in and day out of constant, agonizing pain. When I had been turned away from two other doctors writing them off his hemorrhoids, I knew my body and knew they were something more problematic. I thank God I found Dr. Azimuddin. We didn't spend more than 5 minutes in the room together before he ushered me to his office and scheduled surgery. One week later, he performed the 15 minute surgery and since that day (3 months ago) I have not had ONE day of pain! He knows what he is doing, please don't put it off. I was scared to death but I will NEVER wait again. Go see him. He is an absolute God send. Thank you again Dr. Azimuddin! I can never repay you for giving me my life back! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 12, 2018

I am really glad I was referred to Dr. Azimuddin by my PCP. I had terrible hemorrhoids and he walked me through my options, before I made the decision to have a hemorrhoidectemy. He doesn't show much emotion and it straight to the point, which I appreciated, but not everyone does.A few days after my surgery, he saw me for a same day appointment because I was in pain that I thought was more than I thought I should feel. But after a discussion and guidance on keeping on top of my medications, within 24 hours, I was a different person. It was like a light switch.While he seems unemotional, he seems to really care about his patients, and was very patient with my questions.I highly recommend Dr. Azimuddin to anyone for any procedures or office visits he offers. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.G.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 23, 2018

Dr. Azimuddin has been my surgeon for a total colectomy, an ostomy reversal, hospital stays, and in-office checkups. He is always friendly and is always concerned about my progress. He gives direct answers and takes the time to make sure I (and my parents) understand things. I always feel comfortable asking him any questions I have. Any nurse or hospital staff I've talked to always has great things to say about him. Dr. Azi looks out for his patients and is a great doctor to have on your side. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 18, 2018

Dr, Raphaeli - is a caring and kind doctor. He explained everything to me and there was nothing to fear. I was relaxed and came through the procedure well. Best of all no pain any more! Carole Z. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.G.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 03, 2017

I am really glad I was referred to Dr. Azimudin by my PCP. I had terrible hemorrhoids and he walked me through my options, before I made the decision to have a hemorrhoidectemy. He doesn't show much emotion and it straight to the point, which I appreciated, but not everyone does.A few days after my surgery, he saw me for a same day appointment because I was in pain that I thought was more than I thought I should feel. But after a discussion and guidance on keeping on top of my medications, More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 02, 2017

I am really glad I was referred to Dr. Azimuddin by my PCP.  I had terrible hemorrhoids and he walked me through my options, before I made the decision to have a hemorrhoidectemy.  He doesn't show much emotion and it straight to the point, which I appreciated, but not everyone does. A few days after my surgery, he saw me for a same day appointment because I was in pain that I thought was more than I thought I should feel.  But after a discussion and guidance on keeping on top of my medications, within 24 hours, I was a different person.  It was like a light switch. While he seems unemotional, he seems to really care about his patients, and was very patient with my questions. I highly recommend Dr. Azimuddin to anyone for any procedures or office visits he offers. More

5.0
Review from MF  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Jan 23, 2020

This email communication is directed to Dr. Azimunddin. Thank you for your extended courtesy in reaching out to Dr. Muhamed Othman for the ESD procedure I wanted done to remove the 35mm Large Poylp from my Large Intestine. Rest assured that I will refer anyone I know needing a Colonoscopy or Robotic and/or Laproscopic procedures to have remove any large polyps found in their Colons. Thank you again for the time you have taken to examine all the documented information I brought with me from El Paso Texas regarding the Large 35mm Polyp discovered by Colon Surgeons during a colonoscopy procedure performed on me in El Paso Texas sometime during the month of September 2019. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.