Patient Reviews

Reviews for Treatments Procedures Near Houston, TX

Patient Testimonials

Houston Colon and Rectal Surgery is proud to treat patients all across Houston, TX and beyond at our accessible North Houston and West Houston offices. We employ three of the finest specialists in the field, Drs. Khawaja Azimuddin, Tal Raphaeli, and Jean Knapps. Each of our surgeons prioritizes providing exceptional patient care above all else. We work closely with women and men alike so they can understand every step of their treatment and play an active role in the decision-making process of their colorectal care. When choosing a specialist to restore your health and quality of life, it's important that you select only the best. Below, we have provided a comprehensive listing of reviews left by real patients just like you who have sought and received care from Houston Colon and Rectal Surgery. We invite you to browse through these individual accounts and envision the care you could receive when you trust your wellness to our esteemed team.

Filter16 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 06, 2020

My name is Joseph Khawam and I'm a patient of Dr. Khawaja Azimuddin. I was in so much pain, I was bleeding and suffering from my hemorrhoids for a very long time. I tried everything for more than eight months and nothing worked at all and the pain was getting worst. Then my doctor told me to go to Dr. Azimuddin and I did. Dr. Azimuddin is such a wonderful doctor. He diagnosed me with stage 4 hemmohroid and extreme rectum pain. He did my surgery and I feel great. He's very knowledgeable and took his his time to listen to me and was very patient with me. He's a very honest and understanding doctor and not greedy like so many other doctors. He saw me as a patient and not a business deal. He's a very good doctor and surgeon. I wish for every patient who suffer from colon, rectum and hemmohroids to go to Dr. KHAWAJA AZIMUDDIN BECAUSE HE REALLY IS A GREAT SURGEON.Thank you very much Dr. Azimuddin for everything because I feel like you treated me as if I was your own brother. Thank you ag More

5.0
Review from MF  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Jan 23, 2020

This email communication is directed to Dr. Azimunddin. Thank you for your extended courtesy in reaching out to Dr. Muhamed Othman for the ESD procedure I wanted done to remove the 35mm Large Poylp from my Large Intestine. Rest assured that I will refer anyone I know needing a Colonoscopy or Robotic and/or Laproscopic procedures to have remove any large polyps found in their Colons. Thank you again for the time you have taken to examine all the documented information I brought with me from El Paso Texas regarding the Large 35mm Polyp discovered by Colon Surgeons during a colonoscopy procedure performed on me in El Paso Texas sometime during the month of September 2019. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.Y.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 04, 2019

I was referred by my dr for hemmoroids i made a appt and arrived one week earlier than my scheduled date and was told that i could be seen. Dr R listened to my concerns and preformed a exam and Concluded that I indeed needed surgery. I had to reschedule and they were very accommodating. On the of it did take a bit of time to get to the surgery room. I did see the dr before during the nurse visit. As I was wheeled off to surgery i was repositioned and woke up in aftercare. There was a bit of pain and i was given som morphine. This did not work as well as the tylenol 3. The ibuprofen did the job so i never really took the tylenol 3 again. Although a uncomfortable procedure it's not a bad experience. Very nice dr Thank you. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 04, 2019

My husband saw Dr. Raphaeli today after seeing 3 other colorectal doctors. He is by far the best! He listened well and reviewed CT Scan and colonoscopy reports. He recommended a treatment plan. We like his demeanor and the way he talked to us in plain language. He was on time for a 3pm appointment which is unusual for a specialist. His staff were friendly and courteous. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 29, 2019

He did my colon resection. He’s personable and straight forward. He took the time to meet me in his office to explain the surgery and recovery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.V.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 22, 2019

My husband found Dr. Knapps when he had to have emergency surgery to remove his entire colon due to ulcerative colitis in December of 2018. Since, he has been his surgeon for the next steps of his recovery and future surgeries. He just completed my husband’s second surgery and really takes the time to make sure we are confident in his decisions and his work. He really cares about his patients and how they are feeling. Even though my husband’s surgeries have been extensive, he gets relief knowing Dr. Knapps will always be a friendly face to see during and after. I think that has really made a difference in his recovery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.V.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 22, 2019

My husband found Dr. Knapps when he had to have emergency surgery to remove his entire colon due to ulcerative colitis in December of 2018. Since, he has been his surgeon for the next steps of his recovery and future surgeries. He just completed my husband’s second surgery and really takes the time to make sure we are confident in his decisions and his work. He really cares about his patients and how they are feeling. Even though my husband’s surgeries have been extensive, he gets relief knowing Dr. Knapps will always be a friendly face to see during and after. I think that has really made a difference in his recovery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.T.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 02, 2019

Dr azimuddin has seen me 3x and has done 2 procedures including davinci robot surgery for r inguinal hernia i have the utmost confidence in him he listens, and my results have been excellent he is friendly and professional and clearly explains things his staff is also friendly and efficient More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 12, 2018

I cannot say enough about Dr. Azimuddin. I suffered with a fissure for over 6 months. Day in and day out of constant, agonizing pain. When I had been turned away from two other doctors writing them off his hemorrhoids, I knew my body and knew they were something more problematic. I thank God I found Dr. Azimuddin. We didn't spend more than 5 minutes in the room together before he ushered me to his office and scheduled surgery. One week later, he performed the 15 minute surgery and since that day (3 months ago) I have not had ONE day of pain! He knows what he is doing, please don't put it off. I was scared to death but I will NEVER wait again. Go see him. He is an absolute God send. Thank you again Dr. Azimuddin! I can never repay you for giving me my life back! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 12, 2018

I am really glad I was referred to Dr. Azimuddin by my PCP. I had terrible hemorrhoids and he walked me through my options, before I made the decision to have a hemorrhoidectemy. He doesn't show much emotion and it straight to the point, which I appreciated, but not everyone does.A few days after my surgery, he saw me for a same day appointment because I was in pain that I thought was more than I thought I should feel. But after a discussion and guidance on keeping on top of my medications, within 24 hours, I was a different person. It was like a light switch.While he seems unemotional, he seems to really care about his patients, and was very patient with my questions.I highly recommend Dr. Azimuddin to anyone for any procedures or office visits he offers. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.G.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 23, 2018

Dr. Azimuddin has been my surgeon for a total colectomy, an ostomy reversal, hospital stays, and in-office checkups. He is always friendly and is always concerned about my progress. He gives direct answers and takes the time to make sure I (and my parents) understand things. I always feel comfortable asking him any questions I have. Any nurse or hospital staff I've talked to always has great things to say about him. Dr. Azi looks out for his patients and is a great doctor to have on your side. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 06, 2018

Dr. Azimuddin was my surgeon for a required total colectomy. Naturally, having to have a complicated surgery was incredibly scary and the recovery process was difficult. Dr. Azimuddin was wonderful, though, throughout -- leading up to the surgery, the surgery itself and the recovery process. He is very direct and frank, which I appreciate greatly. Most importantly, my surgical results were about the best you can have with this type surgery. I had no complications from the actual surgery and my recovery process -- albeit difficult -- was easier than what most patients experience with a total colectomy. I would highly recommend Dr. Azimuddin to others who need to have colon surgery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 28, 2018

I am really glad I was referred to Dr. Azimuddin by my PCP. I had terrible hemorrhoids and he walked me through my options, before I made the decision to have a hemorrhoidectemy. He doesn't show much emotion and it straight to the point, which I appreciated, but not everyone does. A few days after my surgery, he saw me for a same day appointment because I was in pain that I thought was more than I thought I should feel. But after a discussion and guidance on keeping on top of my medications, within 24 hours, I was a different person. It was like a light switch. While he seems unemotional, he seems to really care about his patients, and was very patient with my questions. I highly recommend Dr. Azimuddin to anyone for any procedures or office visits he offers. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.G.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 03, 2017

I am really glad I was referred to Dr. Azimudin by my PCP. I had terrible hemorrhoids and he walked me through my options, before I made the decision to have a hemorrhoidectemy. He doesn't show much emotion and it straight to the point, which I appreciated, but not everyone does.A few days after my surgery, he saw me for a same day appointment because I was in pain that I thought was more than I thought I should feel. But after a discussion and guidance on keeping on top of my medications, More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 02, 2017

I am really glad I was referred to Dr. Azimuddin by my PCP.  I had terrible hemorrhoids and he walked me through my options, before I made the decision to have a hemorrhoidectemy.  He doesn’t show much emotion and it straight to the point, which I appreciated, but not everyone does.A few days after my surgery, he saw me for a same day appointment because I was in pain that I thought was more than I thought I should feel.  But after a discussion and guidance on keeping on top of my medications, within 24 hours, I was a different person.  It was like a light switch.While he seems unemotional, he seems to really care about his patients, and was very patient with my questions.I highly recommend Dr. Azimuddin to anyone for any procedures or office visits he offers. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 02, 2017

I am really glad I was referred to Dr. Azimuddin by my PCP.  I had terrible hemorrhoids and he walked me through my options, before I made the decision to have a hemorrhoidectemy.  He doesn't show much emotion and it straight to the point, which I appreciated, but not everyone does. A few days after my surgery, he saw me for a same day appointment because I was in pain that I thought was more than I thought I should feel.  But after a discussion and guidance on keeping on top of my medications, within 24 hours, I was a different person.  It was like a light switch. While he seems unemotional, he seems to really care about his patients, and was very patient with my questions. I highly recommend Dr. Azimuddin to anyone for any procedures or office visits he offers. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.